Soccer Training Info
Home New Skills Strategy Dribbling Shooting Passing Watch Videos Blog
Skills and Techniques
Free Kicks
Strategy & Tactics
Soccer Patterns
Practice Plans
Soccer History
History of Soccer
Articles Archive
Quick Tips
Fitness & Nutrition
Mental Focus
Speed Training
Soccer Gear
Local Stores
Soccer Camps
Soccer Tournaments
Indoor Soccer Facilities
Soccer Bars

Coerver Coaching

Coerver Coaching - Ultimate Bundle

Coerver Session Planner

Featured Links

What Players Have the Most MLS Cups?

Is Jeff Agoos the best player who’s ever played in the MLS? I don’t think so, but if you based it upon the number of MLS Cups he’s won he would be. He’s won a whopping 5 in total – yeah five rings with two different clubs, one for each finger on one of his hands. Agoos has won three MLS Cups with DC United and then two with the original San Jose Earthquakes.

Overall, two clubs have the most players with the most MLS Cups, and really this is one team in the same, with a few players leaving for other teams when the team itself moved, and this is the San Jose Earthquakes and the Houston Dynamo collective. The other team that has the majority of MLS Cups is DC United, with 4 Cups over the 13-year history of the MLS. San Jose/Houston have also won four MLS Cups in total if you count them as one side.

Here are the rest of the top cup holders:

  • Jeff Agoos (5)
  • Jaime Moreno (4)
  • Craig Waibel (4)
  • Brian Ching (4)
  • Dwayne De Rosario (4)
  • Eddie Robinson (4)
  • Brian Mullan (4)
  • Pat Onstad (4)
  • Wade Barrett (4)
  • Richie Williams (4)
  • Eddie Pope (4)
  • Mark Simpson (3)
  • Richard Mulrooney (3)
  • Marco Etcheverry (3)
  • Landon Donovan (3)

What does it say about a player if they’ve won an MLS Cup? What’s interesting about the list is the groups of players that have won these Cups together. Landon Donovan might just be the only player who has won a title while not having a supporting cast of players who have won Cups before. Donovan won two titles with the core group of San Jose Earthquake players and then was traded to the LA Galaxy where he won a title on his on in a sense. Jeff Agoos won five Cups but all were with groups of core players who had won Cups before, whether that was with DC United or San Jose.

There are two keepers on this list, Pat Onstad and Mark Simpson, but you’d think there might be more, as goalkeepers are such a crucial part of Cup winning team. I also believe that Mark Simpson was injured during one or two of DC United’s championships, and did not play in all the games during those Cup runs, so really, Pat Onstad is the top keeper on the list.

If anything, I think that all these players on this list will become and make exceptional coaches in the MLS. There’s nothing like having one an MLS CUp to convince players to play hard for you and win.

  Subscribe in a reader   Bookmark and Share     

Coerver Coaching: Get FREE Soccer Training tips. Signup Now!
SoccerU - Free Soccer Training Videos
Hot Links
1. Elite European Clubs Soccer Camps
2. Daily Footwork Drills
3. Soccer's Possession Kings
4. Barcelona's Tiki Taka Style of Play
5. Messi Maradona Imitation
6. How to Play Like Lionel Messi
7. Become a Better Soccer Coach
Coerver Coaching's Online Youth Diploma
Want Soccer Practices That Players Enjoy? You'll get all this & much more from this coaching course. Take it from the comfort of your home. Further your education in soccer skills training. Instant Access Now!



Site Map
About Us

Quote of the Month:

"There is always someone out there getting better than you by training harder than you."

more soccer quotes...


© 2017 Soccer Training Info All rights reserved.